Candidates for FIFA World Player of the Year

메시·홀란·음바페 등 FIFA 올해의 선수 후보 | 연합뉴스TV

Candidates for FIFA World Player of the Year Including Messi, Holland, and Mbappe



Hermoso, victim of 'forced kiss' at World Cup awards ceremony, nominated for best female player


Lionel Messi (Argentina, Inter Miami), Erling Holland (Norway, Manchester City), and Kylian Mbappe (France, Paris Saint-Germain) were nominated for the FIFA World Player of the Year award. 온라인카지노


FIFA announced the candidates for each category for ‘The Best FIFA Football Aweez 2023’ on the 14th (local time).


FIFA, which established the Player of the Year Award in 1991, merged it with the Ballon d'Or selected by French soccer magazine France Football in 2010 and presented the award under the name 'FIFA Ballon d'Or'.


Since 2016, it has been separated from the Ballon d'Or again and held a separate award ceremony.


The nominees for the Best Male and Female Player, Goalkeeper, and Coach awards, as well as the FIFA Fan Awards, were revealed on this day, as selected by a panel of experts.


Nominations for the Pushka Award, given to the player who scored the most spectacular goal, will be announced on the 21st.


The evaluation period for the men's award category was from December 19 last year, when the 2022 Qatar World Cup ended, to August 20, this year, and for the women's category, it was from August 1 last year to August 20, when this year's Women's World Cup ended.


12 people were nominated for best men's player, including last year's winner Messi.


This year, Erling Haaland, who led Manchester City to the triple crown with 52 goals in 53 official games, including setting a new record for the most goals in a single season by scoring 36 goals in the English Premier League (EPL) in the 2022-2023 season, is expected to be highly likely to win the award.


In addition, Mbappe, Julian Alvarez (Argentina, Manchester City), Marcello Brozovic (Croatia, Inter Milan, current Al Nasr), Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium, Manchester City), Ilkay Gundogan (Germany, Manchester City, current Barcelona) ), Rodri (Spain, Manchester City) were also included.


Hvicha Kravatzhelia (Georgia, Naples), Victor Osimhen (Nigeria, Naples), Declan Rice (England, West Ham, current Arsenal), and Bernardo Silva (Portugal, Manchester City) are also candidates.


Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal, Al Nasr) was not nominated as a candidate following last year.


There are a total of 16 candidates for the Women's World Cup, including Aitana Bonmatti, Salma Parajuelo (Barcelona), and Henifer Hermoso (Pachuca), who led Spain to victory in the Women's World Cup.


Among them, Hermoso was the victim of an unwanted kiss from Spanish Football Association President Luis Rubiales during the World Cup award ceremony.


From England, the World Cup runner-up team, four people, including Lauren James (Chelsea), were nominated.


The candidates for men's team coach of the year are Pep Guardiola (Man City), Simone Inzaghi (Inter Milan), Angie Postecoglou (Celtic, current Tottenham), Luciano Spalletti (Napoli, current Italian national team), and Xavi (Barcelona).


Competing for the women's team coach award are Peter Jerharsson (Sweden national team), Jonatan Iraldes (Barcelona), Toni Gustavsson (Australia national team), Emma Hayes (Chelsea), and Sarina Wichmann (England national team).


Coach Jorge Bilda, who led Spain to victory in the Women's World Cup, was not included.


Coach Bilda, who had a close relationship with Chairman Rubiales, was dismissed after the 'forced kissing' incident.


Among the male and female best player, goalkeeper, and manager candidates, the only Asian was Japan's Hinata Miyazawa (Sendai, currently Manchester United), a candidate for the best female player.


When expanded to countries belonging to the Asian Football Confederation (AFC), in addition to Miyazawa, some Australians are included, including coach Postekoglou and best women's player candidate Sam Kerr (Chelsea).


Jeonbuk Hyundai advisor Park Ji-sung participated as an expert panelist in the men's category.


The winners are determined based on the results of votes by coaches, captains, media, and fans of FIFA member countries.